3 Scientists Win The 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics


3 Scientists Win The 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics
Nobel Prize winners in Physics


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced that the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics will be awarded to Siukuru Manabi, Klaus Haselmann and Giorgio Baresi for their "pioneering contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems".

"Complex physical systems are characterized by randomness, chaos, and difficulty to understand. This year's award honors new methods of describing them and predicting their long-term behavior," the Nobel Prize-granting body said Tuesday, September 5, in its statement.

Japanese meteorologist and climatologist Seokuro Manabe, 90, and climate modeler Klaus Haselmann, 89, shared half the prize for "physical modeling of Earth's climate, quantification of variance and reliable prediction of global warming." The second half of the prize was awarded to Italian physicist Giorgio Baresi, 73, "for his discovery of the interaction of turbulence and fluctuations in physical systems from the atomic scale to the planetary scale."

The prestigious award is worth 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.14 million).

The Nobel Prize in Physics is the second prize awarded this week after Americans David Julius and Erdem Pataputian won the Medicine Prize on Monday for discovering receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch.

The announcement of the physics prize will be followed in the coming days by the Nobel Prizes for Chemistry, Literature, Peace and Economics.

Source: RT